A Letter To Future Children

Check this out. This girl really knows things.

A Letter To Future Children.

I’ve been doing a lot of blog reading lately, finding styles I like and some that I don’t. One of favorites was writing letters. I read letters to unknown future husbands, letters to people that abused the writer in her past, love letters, and letters to God. I decided I wanted to start writing some letters of my own, so I wrote the first one today. I haven’t the slightest idea whether or not I’ll have kids when I’m older or even if I’d want to, but I do believe kids will always be a part of my life in some capacity. Even if they’re not biologically mine, I could see myself involved in foster care or, maybe, adoption. Whoever they may be, this letter is for them. For all of the little hands that will touch my heart, the little fingers that will grip my thumb. (More sentimental than my usual posts! Feel free to skip today and come back later for ridiculous jibber-jabber and sarcasm.)

Dear future kids,
However you came into my life, I’m glad you did. You’re a blessing and an inspiration. I know I can learn as much from you as you can learn from me. There are so many lessons you’ll learn (from me and many others), and you’ll discover some very quickly. In the mean time, there are three that I want you to know and understand truly and wholeheartedly. If I can save you any heartache or make life any easier with this information, I’d like to. The rest will come. Trust me-everything works out in the end.

1) You are loved. 
You are a beautiful, well-meaning, messy, silly, imperfect human being, just like everyone else, and I wouldn’t want it any other way. You have unique gifts, amazing abilities and a destiny waiting to be fulfilled. I love you. Your family and friends love you. God loves you (and He has a plan for you).

2) I’m just as human as you are.
When you read this, I’ll be an adult, hopefully with my life more or less together. I’m writing this now-as a ridiculous, flighty, scatterbrained, peppy teenaged girl-so you can hear my honest perspective as a peer. Weird thought, huh? It would be for me, too. A few weeks ago, I was volunteering at Children’s Church and using an analogy to teach. I mentioned my mom in it, and one of the little boys gasped. “You have a mom?!” he screamed. Wow. Old already. You can imagine how my mom (your grandmother?) felt about that. The kid has a point, though. It’s beyond strange to picture my parents as little kids or teenagers, dependent on someone else. It’s true, though. I was a little kid who tripped and cried just like you. I was a middle-schooler that giggled and had crushes just like you. And now I’m a teenager who stresses over school work, gets in fights with my parents, goes to club meetings, has favorite music, and juggles her schedule. Just like you.  Whatever you’re feeling, whatever you’re thinking, I’ve been there.

3) Be kind. Be bold. Be honest. 
If you’re anything like me, that last part won’t be a huge problem. I can’t lie for my life. The other two might take practice, but you’ll get there. When you’re trying to be kind to others, there’s one more important piece to remember. If you start to feel proud of your kindness, check your motives. Do good things because it’s the right thing to do. Don’t do it out of pity or for brownie points-do it out of love for a fellow human being. Everyone is deserving of that courtesy. My advice? Take it even smaller than one day at a time. Live in the minute, the second, and do what you can there. Find causes that light your heart on fire and support them. That seemingly simple plan will teach you to be all three. It will also teach you to know your weaknesses as well as your strengths. Want to know mine? I’ll tell you, but don’t use them against me! I probably ask you to be patient all the time, right? Or I did when you were younger? Don’t be offended by that. I’m probably trying to remind myself as much as you. I’m horribly impatient and temperamental. I also talk way too fast when I’m excited, worry far too much about my appearance and get offended too easily. I’m learning my strengths too, though. I’m dedicated to what I believe in, cheerful, empathetic, and friendly. Find out yours and use them to help others.

You’re fearfully and wonderfully made, my dear. You can do great things with help. The world will try to fit you in like a puzzle piece, having you blend in with everyone else, but you’re not a puzzle piece. You pick where you go and what you do there. Stand up for what needs to be stood up for-even when you stand alone. Others will join you. I’ll support you.

With love,
Erin

One thought on “A Letter To Future Children

Like it or wanna say something

